Teaching Energy

Here’s my final blog in response to readings I have done in my English Methods class. Cue tears.

This section of readings was called “Being and Becoming” and I feel like these readings really tied everything up. There were blogs about handling difficult students, not burning out, dealing with pessimistic people, and engaging students in today’s classrooms. All of these things were what we have been talking about throughout the year. I focused on four of these readings.

The first one was about the difficult kids in the classroom. First off, I liked this post because the whole blog is titled “Gatsby in LA” and that made me laugh. The blog is at this website http://gatsbyinla.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/the-kid-i-didnt-kill/. What I found interesting about this was that the difficult kid is the one I am waiting to have when I am a teacher. I feel like this post is true to how teachers feel and how some students can cause such conflicting emotions. I am excited for these students and I am also nervous. I view difficult students like this:

The other two readings I read were about not burning out and retaining the energy to teach. I have heard so much about teacher burnout that I am determined to not allow myself to. I would like to teach for more than three to five years. I feel like most of the time, I would be like this:

In Donald Graves’s The Energy to Teach, he has six principles: 1) We are in charge of our energy, 2) It takes energy to get energy, 3) Find energy in what you do well and practice it, 3) Find energy in your students, 4)  Find energy in colleagues, 5) Find energy in curriculum, and 6) Find energy in being assertive–ask questions. These coincide with the other reading about not burning out at http://pursuingcontext.com/blog/2013/11/how-to-be-a-teacher-for-more-than-5-years-without-killing-yourself-or-others. These pointers are ways to help me not burn out and I liked reading about them. And, just because I can, I am putting this picture on here: 

Basically, what I have gleaned from this is to find energy in everything around me. I also need to have a life outside of the classroom. I believe I can do this if I just take some “me time” every now and then to refresh.

My favorite line in the engaging students in this century from http://the21stcenturyprincipal.blogspot.com/2013/08/6-practices-for-creating-21st-century.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+The21stCenturyPrincipal+%28The+21st+Century+Principal%29. Number 4 on this blog is:

Accept that real student engagement and student learning is most often messy and chaotic.

I feel like a lot of people do not fully understand this. I am basically an organized chaos type of person and therefore, having a chaotic classroom should not really bother me.

After all of these readings, I am looking forward to student teaching and putting into practice the things I have been reading about all year long. I will probably never be fully ready but I am ready to begin my teaching adventure. I am also really excited to begin student teaching come January. I. Cannot. Wait.

Standard

Leave a Reply

