Ever Expanding List

Every school year, my reading list grows exponentially. I started out with maybe ten books and I now am standing at about, oh, five hundred-thousand-trillion. I do not have enough time to read the books I want to read! I started the year by rewarding myself for finishing all my homework by reading a book I wanted to read. Now, my homework is starting to pile up too much for me to even do that.

I feel like this little guy when I read my Microsoft Word Reading List document:

I wonder if my students will ever feel like they want to read the books they want to? Well, if they are anything like me, then yes, they will. I do not want to be the one to hold them back from discovering how great reading can be when no one is making you. I want them to have the connection with books that I do. Because, in the summer, I am reading voraciously.

I Need That Library!!! ^

And I know that even when I do have time to read, I will still keep adding more and more books to my reading list. People need to stop writing books!! Take a break! 🙂

Yup. That pretty much sums up my life in a nutshell.

Oh, and I am adding this little Peanuts cartoon mainly because I work at a library and the cartoon makes me giggle.

Standard

One thought on “Ever Expanding List

  1. One thing I also loved as a teacher about independent reading time in class was that I got to read too! There was NO WAY I would have used that precious reading time to grade papers or write lesson plans! Every Monday, all my classes spent the period reading, which made a whole DAY of reading for me. Maybe we need to institute something like that in our college classes??!! I used to keep a list of books I want to read, and then I stopped. I need to get back to that because I come across books all the time that I want to read and then I forget about them. Of course, I’m never short on stacks of books to read!

Leave a Reply

