“In the Spirit of Ass-Kicking”

I really loved how Linda Rief in her article “The Power of Reading: Practices That Work” started by telling the story of how some students stuck up for another one in the class. The class united, as she says, in the “spirit of ass-kicking” and I love that explanation of how students should view literature. I also view this a little bit as what they will have to do in the real world. Every part of life involves sticking up for yourself and others. Or, in the words of Queen Elizabeth II:

Besides the thought of students reading literature in the “spirit of ass-kicking,” she discusses the importance of reading aloud in class. Even though I was never a fan of reading aloud in classes growing up (mainly because I read faster by myself) I can understand the importance. Everyone knows that all students learn differently so reading aloud will help those students who are more auditory learners. I also liked how she talked about how her one student was able to make connections between characters and important plot developments. Reading aloud helps students learn how to make predictions and visualize the characters. My mother read to me when I was younger and I think that this was one reason why I became such an avid reader and writer. She was always willing to buy me more books and give me as much paper as I wanted. Reading aloud facilitates the love of reading because the students are not just reading to appease their teacher and pass the class. Instead, they are creating discussions amongst their classmates and understanding that reading can be fun.

I found a website dedicated to reading aloud at www.readaloud.org which tells the importance of reading aloud to children. The one statistic from this I found interesting was that only 48% of young children are read aloud to. I believe this number should be higher and I would like to be a part of making this percentage increase.

And here’s a cartoon just because I thought it was cute:

Standard

4 thoughts on ““In the Spirit of Ass-Kicking”

  1. Love this! I was also read aloud to as a kid and I would definitely say that it made me the reader that I am today. The statistic that only 48% of children are read to shocks and saddens me. I share your dream Heather! Let’s make that percentage rise!!

  2. Pingback: Dialogue Advice – Reading Aloud? Nooooooooo | fibijeeves

  3. I love your cartoon haha.
    I don’t think reading aloud to students should be such a controversy, but according to our class discussion, it really is.
    As important as I think it is to read aloud to our students, I think it is equally important for them to read aloud to themselves, a partner, or the class. They need to be able to hear themselves and see where they succeed and where they need improvement.
    So many students that are read aloud to are daydreaming and off in la la land. I think they need to read aloud themselves in order to become more engaged and involved in their own learning process.

  4. Yay Lindsey! Let’s do it! 🙂 And I agree with your suggestions Nikki. I was one of the kids “off in la la land” when being read to so I think reading aloud in small groups is a good idea. Just so that the students don’t feel as intimidated by a smaller group than the whole class.

Leave a Reply

