Changing the World

I really liked the article entitled “9 Essential Lessons for Changing the World” by Angela Maiers (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/angela-maiers/9-essential-lessons-for-c_b_3584164.html?utm_hp_ref=fb&src=sp&comm_ref=false#sb=1245981b=facebook) I think her points were very persuasive. There were two points of hers which I especially liked.

1) Passion Matters

The world is not changed by people who sort of care.

The world is not changed by learners who sort of learn.

The world is not changed by leaders who sort of lead.

I believe that a passionate teacher is contagious. Students need to realize that they are important and that they can make a difference. In order for students to make that difference, they actually have to want to care, learn, and be leaders. They need to be passionate and excited. Basically, in other words:

2) Do Not Waste Time

The basic gist of this is:

One of the most persuasive sentences to me was when she wrote that “The most dangerous word in the English language is tomorrow.”

I have never really heard this before but I do agree with her because I am a great procrastinator at times. Procrastination might have some benefits but really I am just causing myself more stress than is necessary. I think that in order for students to strive to change the world, they have to have passion. Which is why I chose this two points because I believe they tie in together. You cannot change the world today if you do not have the passion to do so. Teachers should have their students understand that:

The time to dare, to make a difference, to embark on something worth doing, is now

I think that in the future, I need to not only remind my students of these things, but I should also remind myself. I need to continue to have the passion for teaching. My personal way to change the world is to continue to teach my students. I am changing the world one student at a time because someday, they will be running the world.

Which leaves me with one last point just because I liked the picture. 🙂

Standard

2 thoughts on “Changing the World

  1. Someone needs to teach me how to incorporate more pictures into my thoughts. I am struggling; you’re an inspiration. I also really enjoyed Maiers article. I’m so excited that we get to be a part of the “change” generation. As I have expressed in class, the “old” system didn’t work for me. It’s time to produce lifelong learners!

    • Well, thank you! I spend more time looking for pictures than blogging haha. And the “old” system does not work for me either! And I do not think that it has been working for many students.

Leave a Reply

